Feb 21, 2018

Waiting on Wednesday #65

"Waiting On" Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted by Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating.

This week I chose... Children of Blood and Bone!
Author: Tomi Adeyemi
Publisher: Henry Holt Books for Young Readers
Number of Pages: 448
Release Date: March 6, 2018


Synopsis:
"Tomi Adeyemi conjures a stunning world of dark magic and danger in her West African-inspired fantasy debut, perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo and Sabaa Tahir.Zélie Adebola remembers when the soil of Orïsha hummed with magic. Burners ignited flames, Tiders beckoned waves, and Zelie’s Reaper mother summoned forth souls.
But everything changed the night magic disappeared. Under the orders of a ruthless king, maji were targeted and killed, leaving Zélie without a mother and her people without hope.Now, Zélie has one chance to bring back magic and strike against the monarchy. With the help of a rogue princess, Zélie must outwit and outrun the crown prince, who is hell-bent on eradicating magic for good.
Danger lurks in Orïsha, where snow leoponaires prowl and vengeful spirits wait in the waters. Yet the greatest danger may be Zélie herself as she struggles to control her powers—and her growing feelings for the enemy."


I think I first found out about this book on Twitter where a video of the author, Tomi, very emotionally holding her book in her hands for the first time. I thought it was so awesome to see someone so passionate about their work, and the synopsis sounds awesome too! I'm really excited to check this one out.

Feb 20, 2018

Top Ten Books I’ve Decided I’m No Longer Interested In Reading

Top Ten Tuesday was created by The Broke and the Bookish in June of 2010 and was moved to That Artsy Reader Girl in January of 2018. It was born of a love of lists, a love of books, and a desire to bring bookish friends together.

I am so glad this top ten Tuesday came about because it was the perfect opportunity to weed out my Goodreads TBR list which has steadily been growing since 2011. I started off at 118 books on my list and ended up with 62 books! It feels really refreshing, and I encourage you all to do the same if you have the time. I obviously removed more than ten, but here are a couple of books I no longer want to read.


1. Hourglass by Myra McEntire



















2. Born at Midnight by C. C. Hunter


















3. Unremembered by Jessica Brody



















4. Just One Day by Gayle Forman



















5. These Shallow Graves by Jennifer Donnelly















6. The Book of Broken Hearts by Sarah Ockler


















7. Paper Valentine by Brenna Yovanoff


















8. Live Through This by Mindi Scott


















9. Deep Blue by Jennifer Donnelly


















10. Crash by Nicole Williams





Feb 16, 2018

A Relevant Read: Violent Ends

Hello, I just wanted to write a short post recommending Violent Ends by Shaun David Hutchinson. I have previously written a review of this book which you can check out here. I rated it with 4.5 out of 5 stars.

Authors: Shaun David Hutchinson, Kendare Blake, Steve Brezenoff, Delilah S. Dawson, Trish Doller, Margie Gelbwasser, E.M. Kokie, Cynthia Leitich Smith, Tom Leveen, Hannah Moskowitz, Elisa Nader, Beth Revis, Mindi Scott, Neal Shusterman, Brandon Shusterman, Courtney Summers, Blythe Woolston, Christine Johnson
Publisher: Simon Pulse
Number of Pages: 384
GoodreadsAmazon

Synopsis:
"It took only twenty-two minutes for Kirby Matheson to exit his car, march onto school grounds, enter the gymnasium, and open fire, killing six and injuring five others. 
But this isn't a story about the shooting itself. This isn't about recounting that one unforgettable day.
This is about Kirby and how one boy—who had friends, enjoyed reading, played saxophone in the band, and had never been in trouble before—became a monster capable of entering his school with a loaded gun and firing on his classmates.
Each chapter is told from a different victim's viewpoint, giving insight into who Kirby was and who he'd become. Some are sweet, some are dark; some are seemingly unrelated, about fights or first kisses or late-night parties. 
This is a book of perspectives—with one character and one event drawing them all together—from the minds of some of YA's most recognizable names."
This seems to be a relevant read due to recent events with the Parkland shooting. This story also takes place in a high school and focuses on the victims rather than the shooter, so I would highly recommend it to anyone who is interested. 

We would just like everyone to know that we stand with those affected by this senseless tragedy, and would like to voice that now is the time for policy and change.